An idea from Snorbles thread

Sunnyb0ne

Rather than detract from Snorble's query and PJ's in depth reply I thought it courteous to start a different thread.
Maybe we'll get PJ enough material up she'll present us with a best seller. ;D
PJ touched on something that has been in the back of my mind for, well, years actually.
It's meditation.

I've been a practicing martial artist for the better part of three decades now. I'm belted in 2 styles of Tae Kwon Do - [1st and 2nd degree Black], Kempo [Brown], Hapkido [1 st degree Black] and am certified in joint locks, pressure points and knife fighting. Yes, I bare handedly destroyed defenseless boards and cinder blocks and severely lacerated various harmless fruits, vegetables and sheets of foam rubber. I only gave private lessons and normally they were officers from Ft.Polk in Louisiana. Adults only, no children or teens. The style I taught was to play for keeps.

This isn't a my head is bigger than yours statement. It's to illustrate that I know how to meditate. To be very good in martial arts requires one to be able to focus solely on what you're doing in order to accomplish it. At least the kind of meditation required for martial arts purposes. It's also rather handy in learning how to ignore pain that tends to come with a full contact competition. Every style of meditation I've studied requires one to focus on a specific "point" without the use of force in order to achieve that focus.

That kind of meditation however is entirely different from the meditation I use to RV. For martial arts I would focus on "the other side of the target" for example. To control pain, it doesn't exist. All that exists is something else. Anything else. My opponent, the drive home, what I should have anticipated, practicing what I should have anticipated. You get the idea.

What I do for RV is simpler. I just relax and focus on the rise and fall of my breathing.