i keep hearing a small hissing sound

T-bone

"Are you threatening me?"
I get that to, but with me it's all the time.  Saw the doc about it, he said I've got "tinitus??" Ringing of the ears basicly.  I hear it mainly when in quiet settings. Probably caused by my time in the military (being close to explosions, artilery, guns ect..)  

W

wizopeva

Doctors are comical sometimes. They act like just cuz they got a name for something, that means they actually KNOW something, LOL! Tinnitus is the name they use for when people say they hear ringing sounds or stuff like that. It was long assumed that it had to do with damage to the ear, especially because there seemed to be a selfreported commonality of illness like cold or flu before the onset of the tinnitus. I have no knowledge of any actually decently controlled statistics to support that though. But it is known that tinnitus is more common in older people and it's also believed to be more common in those with hearing loss.

It was also long believed that it was caused by incorrect signals being sent to the brain. However, several years ago, some scientist actually decided to check that out scientifically and surprise surprise, the 'sound' apparently orginated in the brain, not the ears. So it's literally 'all in your head.' But please don't ask me to explain that experiment cuz all I can remember is that it was super complicated and I had trouble understanding it even then.

But anyway, my point is they don't understand much about it. From a spiritualist point of view, it could easily be said to be your mind using one of the senses to tell you something. From a doctor's point of view, it could easily be said to be crappy ears (hopefully that wasn't to technical, hehe). I don't know if either is the case or if both things have something to do with it.