RVing Without A Partner

TeaLady

Hello everyone, this is a great discussion board ... I love reading the threads here!

A little background about me - I am a graduate of The Silva Method, also formally known as Silva Mind Control. It's a 2-4 weekend course (I can't remember exactly how many weekends it took me to graduate, it was so long ago ... I finished in 1985).

It is a series of techniques that were developed by Jose Silva in the 1950s-60s (I believe that date is correct) - where we learned to go to "level" - which is a state of deep relaxation, which then freed our mind up to operate using it's capacity at an optimum level.

In Silva one develops a Laboratory in their 'minds eye' where they can do many things having to do with lots of different situations, some with the assistance of counselors developed by the Silva graduate ... some of the Silva techniques seem to relate to RVing.

The very last exercise that we did in the course was that we paired up and each person wrote down three names on a sheet of paper. Then one name was selected by the person who was to be the person holding the target name and the other person was to try to attempt to describe the target that was on that piece of paper held by their partner.

Part of the technique required that the person attempting to name the person did so verbally and did so in a stream of consciousness manner ... and the person holding the target could only give positive encouragement by saying yes and nodding their head even though the info. that the person may be stating may have nothing to do with the target written on the piece of paper. This positive encouragement was given to all comments so that the continuation of the verbalization in the stream of consciousness would not be hindered.